Skip to content

December 2012 minutes

December 8, 2012 minutes

Members signed in and enjoyed a lengthy time of mingling and eating.

Pledges to the flags of the United States and the State of Texas, and the Sons Of The American Revolution pledge were led by Ray DeVries.

Opening prayer was offered by Jim Scott.

New member, Russell Fontenot, was presented by registrar Dan Stauffer. President Don Bunnell and historian Jim Scott administered the oath.

SAR military service awards, and SAR years of service awards were presented - the list of which will be posted, along with pictures, on the chapter's website.

Oath of office was read by immediate past President Harlon Green for the following officers:

President Ray DeVries
President-elect - Jim Scott
Registrar - Dan Stauffer
Secretary - Rick Malley
Treasurer - Bill Freeman
Sergeant-at-arms - David Kirkland
Chaplain - Mike Nichols
Historian - Roger Gore

Past president Green presented the gavel to incoming President DeVries.

New president DeVries presented immediate Past President Don Bunnell with the "Past President" pin.

Outgoing president Bunnell thanked the new officers for accepting their upcoming obligations and term of service. He also released all previously appointed chairpersons from their obligations.

We were reminded that 2013 dues are now payable and due.

Next meeting will be on January 12, 2013, 11:00 a.m. at Bob's Catfish and More, 305 E. Morrow St., Georgetown.

The February meeting will be the joint meeting, observing George Washington's birthday, with the Daughters of The American Revolution, in Austin. Alexander Hamilton is in charge of the meeting.

In addition, Temple SAR and DAR will be observing Washington's birthday on February 9, and an invitation has been extended to our chapter.

SAR recessional was led by incoming President Ray DeVries.

Closing prayer led by Jim Scott.

Meeting was adjourned .

Published inUncategorized