Minutes of Meeting of the East Fork Trinity Chapter (47)

National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution

December 13, 2018

Texas Land and Cattle Restaurant, Garland, Texas

Corrected December 29, 2018 Corrections in Red

Call to order:

By President Leslie Anderson at 7:00 P.M.

Invocation:

Given by Chaplain Father Loyd Morris

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag:

Led by Compatriot Glenn Atterberry

Pledge to the Texas Flag:

Led by Registrar David Powell

Affirmation to the SAR:

Led by Compatriot Walt Thomas

Welcome:

President Anderson welcomed all in attendance. (See Attachment)

President Anderson presented Compatriot Stuart O'Connor with a Certificate of Appreciation for working at the DAR Continental House during the Texas State Fair.

New Members Induction by District 6 VP Lovell:

Compatriot - Kevin Clark Patriot - Edwin Lovejoy

- Brandon Nelson - Thomas Nelson, Jr.

Both new members spoke briefly about their Patriot Ancestors. The fact that Thomas Nelson, Jr., a **Signer of the Declaration of Independence** holds significance and prestige for all SAR.

SAR Life Saving Medal was presented to Officer Casey Northcutt, Heath DPS, for action initiating successful CPR after witnessing the distress. He was off duty at the time.

Compatriot Dr Montie Monzingo nominated Officer Northcutt and introduced him to the EFT with an explanation of the event. The Medal was presented by EFT Medals and Awards Committee Chairman Walt Thomas. Officer Northcutt was accompanied by his immediate family and DPS Director Terry Garret and Sgt. Bergman.

Approval of Minutes:

Motion to approve the November 15 minutes by Vice President Gary Snowden. Second by Chaplain Father Loyd Morris. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report:

Given by Treasurer Bob Vickers (See attachment)

New Business:

Members vote on Bylaw Amendments

- Purposed Proposed Bylaw Amendments were presented at the November Meeting and attached to the November minutes emailed to all members.
- Motion to ratify purposed proposed amendments by Treasurer Bob Vickers. Second by State Historian Harmon Adair. Motion passed.
- · (See attachment for Amended Bylaws)

Vote to ratify 2019 Budget

- Purposed Proposed 2019 Budget was presented at the November Meeting and attached to the November minutes emailed to all members.
- Motion to ratify purposed proposed 2019 Budget as presented by Registrar David Powell. Second by Chaplain Father Loyd Morris. Motion passed.

(See attachment for 2019 Budget)

Election of Officers for 2019:

Nominations Committee Chairman Powell placed the following names in nomination for 2019: (See Attachment)

President
Vice President
Secretary
Treasurer
Registrar
Historian
Chaplain
Bob Vickers
Paul Ridenour
Gary Lovell
Bob Kubin
David Powell
Leslie Anderson
Father Loyd Morris

- There being no nominations from the floor, Compatriot Stephen Johnson moved to elect the slate of officers as presented. Second by Compatriot Greg Flowers. Motion Passed.
- The 2019 officers will be sworn in at the January meeting.

Announcements:

• The next Meeting will be January 17, 2019

Registrar David Powell advised the members of some changes coming.

- The SAR will accept only official DAR copies as proof. These are available but do require payment.
- Vital records release date may be extended from 75 years to 100 years.
- Members be advised, if these documents will be needed in the future, better get them asap.

Medals and Awards:

District 6 VP Lovell made the following presentations:

- Certificate of Appreciation to the East Fork-Trinity Chapter for their support of District 6 and TXSSAR.
- Certificate of Appreciation to EFT Registrar David Powell for constructing and managing his prospective new member list.
- Certificate of Appreciation to Vice President Gary Snowden for coordinating SAR and DAR efforts in recruitment during the Texas State Fair, and editing the EFT Newsletter, publishing Registrar Powell's New Member List.

 TXSSAR Bronze Service Medal presented to President Leslie Anderson for his work as Photographer and Videographer at Color Guard events and Chapter, State and National Meetings.

November Door Prize winner and January presenter: Darlene Kubin

SAR Closing:
Led by Compatriot Ken Morrill

Benediction:
Given by Chaplain Father Loyd Morris

President Anderson called the meeting adjourned at 8:10 P.M.

The annual EFT Christmas Party Followed.

Leslie Anderson

G.W. Lovell

Please note this change

Secretary

President

Our next meeting will be held at 7:00P.M. at the Texas

Land and Cattle Restaurant, Garland Texas on the third

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Dues are now due and can be paid on line at TXSSAR.com then click on "Events"