

# Edmund Terrill Chapter No. 34 Sherman Texas Society Sons of The American Revolution



# **Meeting Minutes**

The May 17th, 2023, meeting of Edmund Terrill Chapter No 34 was held at the First United Bank in Sherman, TX. Vice President Ray Hargis called the meeting to order at 12:00 PM. A prayer was offered by Chaplain Don Babbs followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag and Honor to the Texas Flag along with the SAR Pledge.

Vice President Hargis welcomed everyone to the meeting along with special guest President Elect, Tracy Pounder.

Attending were Compatriots Don Babbs, Harvey Davis, Danny Doty, John Greer, Ray Hargis, T.L. Holden, Bill Hurst, Jerry Vaughan, William Kuebler, Ted Wilson, and Andy Anderson.

Guest attending, President Elect, Tracy Pounder, Sheryl Vaughan-DAR, Nancy Anderson-DAR, Jan McCain, Tony Bennie, Tom Watt, Sarah Bingham,

# **Program**

Vice-President Hargis introduced speaker Joe Jaynes who presented a very informative program about "Hamilton versus Jefferson". The differences in opinions that Alexander Hamilton and Thomas Jefferson had about what should be included in the Constitution. After months of discussion, they finally came to an agreement and the Constitution was approved by Congress.

### **New Member Induction**

Andy Anderson was inducted into the Sons of the American Revolution by President Elect Tracy Pounder.

### Awards.

2nd Vice President John Hunt, Sr. presented Sarah Bigham the Law Enforcement Commendation Medal in recognition of her service to law enforcement.

Jonathan MaCann received the "Life Saving Award".

### **Old Business**

The March meeting minutes are posted on the chapter web site. Bill Hurst made a motion to accept the minutes. Seconded by John Hunt. Motion passed.

The Treasurer's report was not available.

John Greer reported the VA is now relaxing the entry requirements allowing more activity.

### **Edmund Terrill Chapter Individual Awards received at Texas Annual Conference**

- Ray Hargis: State Roger Sherman Silver Medal. National Lafayette Service Medal, 1 Gold OLC, 4 Bronze OLC
- T.L. Holden: State Roger Sherman Silver Medal. National Lafayette Service Medal, 3 Gold OLC, 1 Silver OLC and 2 Bronze OLC
- Ted Wilson: State Roger Sherman Silver Medal
- Gary Barker: Certificate of Distinguished Service for Outstanding Personal Service. National Lafayette Volunteer Service Medal, 2 Bronze OLC. Certificate of Commendation (Color Guard). National Silver Color Guard Medal

## **Edmund Terrill Chapter Awards:**

- -Texas SAR Flag Presentation Award
- -Texas SAR Outstanding Public Service Award (Awarding all 5 public service awards)
- -John Bruce Stuart Memorial Award (Chapter that best meets the criteria based on Veteran's activities)
- -Texas SAR Americanism Award (Chapter that best recognizes patriotic activities, supports patriotic education, observance of national holidays & outstanding citizenship).
- -Texas SAR Yearbook Award (1st Place)
- -Texas Outstanding Chapter Award for 2022
- -America 250 Award Streamer (for our non-existent chapter flag!)

### **New Business**

None Reported

Chaplain Don Babbs offered a closing prayer. The Recessional was recited, and the meeting closed at 1:20 P.M.

The next meeting will be on September 20<sup>th</sup>, 2023, at the First United Bank in Sherman.

Ray Hargis – 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President