TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION MCKINNEY CHAPTER #63 MCKINNEY, TEXAS

JANUARY 14, 2010 MEETING MINUTES



President Don Babbs opened the meeting at 7:05 P. M.

Chaplain Don Sielert gave the invocation.

The pledge of the American Flag was given by **President Don Babbs**

The pledge of the Texas Flag was given by **President Don Babbs.**

The pledge of the SAR Flag was given by **President Don Babbs.**

The Treasurer's report was given by **Billy Thompson**. A total of **\$397.95** is the current balance in the bank.

There was no old business to be presented to the chapter.

At this time, Vice President Peter McLellan gave the list of nominations for the 2010 officers. The following is the list of nominations.

President: Don Sielert

Vice President: Peter McLellan

Secretary-Treasurer: Billy L. Thompson

Registrar: Don Babbs

Historian: Mike Ghormley **Chaplain:** Mike Yarbrough **Webmaster:** Cecil Coale

Sergeant at Arms: Ernest Martin

After the list was presented, a motion was made that this group would become the 2010 officers.

At this time, Vice President Peter McLellan inducted new member Ron Smith into the chapter. The new member pin was presented to Diane Smith to be pinned onto Ron's coat. A summary was given by Ron concerning what he had to do to get all of the information required to get his application approved. Even though, it took almost two years to gather all of the required information, Ron stayed with the process and was able to tie all of the information together.

A very special presentation of the NSSAR Good Citizenship Medal was presented to Paul A. Yeager. A sample of information taken from Mr. Yeager's biography follows. Paul was born in Nowata, Oklahoma and after his 19th birthday, he enlisted in the Army Air Corps, with dreams of becoming a pilot. Being he was too young for pilot training, he served as an enlisted man for some time before being accepted into the flying training program. He received the coveted wings three days after his 21th birthday. He served in Nome, Alaska, the states, the South Pacific where he flew the P38 aircraft. Early in 1943, he was shot down over the New Guinea jungle, where he lay injured for several days before being rescued by his fellow airmen. Paul had many rewarding assignments during his time in the Air Force, the plum being a three year tour with the Military Assistance Advisory Group in Lisbon, Portugal. Later the Yeager's moved to Texas and served in Del Rio, Wichita Falls, and finally moving to the Dallas area. After moving to McKinney, Paul served two terms on the McKinney City Council and then was selected to be the Governor of Rotary's District 5810. Recently Paul had the honor of receiving from Congressman Sam Johnson the Distinguished Flying Cross which he had earned in New Guinea 66 years ago.

An announcement was made concerning the February 2010 meeting. Texas President Thomas E. Lawrence will be the guest speaker and he will be inducting the 2010 officers at this time. It was announced that the February meeting will begin at 5:30 PM instead of the regular time. This is due to the schedule of President Lawrence.

There was an announcement concerning the raffle that is being conducted by the Liberty Chapter # 42.

The special program was presented by Ronnie D. Foster of the Collin County Veterans Memorial. He gave the background of how this memorial started and the current status of the project. If the project remains on schedule, it will be opening in 2011. He then gave a listing of service people that lost their lives in World War I. World War II, The War in Korea, Vietnam War, and the War on Terror. A total of 326 Collin County people lost their lives in these wars. All of the people from Collin County will be listed on the memorial once it is completed.

The Benediction was given by **Chaplain Yarbrough.**

The Recessional was given by **Don Babbs**.

The following members and guests were present: Don & Ann Sielert, Billy & Kathleen Thompson, Don & Donna Babbs, Ernest Martin, Paul & Connie Yeager, Mike Ghormley, Pete & Dagny McLellan, Eugene & Betty Trimble, Ron & Diane Smith, Mike Yarbrough, & Ronnie Foster.