<u>TEXAS SOCIETY SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION</u> <u>MCKINNEY CHAPTER #63</u> <u>MCKINNEY, TEXAS</u>

APRIL 8, 2010 MEETING MINUTES



President Don Sielert opened the meeting at 7:00 P. M.

President Don Sielert gave the invocation.

The pledge of the American Flag was given by **Billy Thompson**.

The pledge of the Texas Flag was given by **Pete McLellan**.

The pledge of the SAR Flag was given by Mike Ghormley.

The Treasurer's report was given by **Billy Thompson**. A total of **\$671.90** is the **c**urrent balance in the bank.

President Don Sielert covered the following items listed under New Business.

- The May 2010 meeting will be our annual flag retirement ceremony to be on May 22, 2010 at Gabe Nesbitt Park at 2:00 PM. There will be two DAR Chapters that will be helping in the ceremony.
- Our chapter to go to DFW Airport to Greet the Troops will be on Wednesday, April 14, 2010.
- There will be another planning meeting for the flag retirement ceremony on April 12, 2010.
- It was reported by Pete McLellan that the chapter won an award at the State Convention for the 2009 flag retirement ceremony.

• It was reported that Chapter Member James Shaw had been ill and unable to attend meetings.

President Don Sielert made the introduction of the guest speaker, **Jill Muncy**.

Jill gave a very interesting talk concerning her job working with the UN Police Force in Kosovo and Lebanon. She gave a very detailed description of what her and the team that went with her to accomplish the task that were given to her by the US Government. She also gave a detailed description of the training program that was conducted in Lebanon.

President Don Sielert presented Police Chief Doug Kowalski and Jill Muncy the Law Enforcement Medals. Chief Kowalski has been selected by his department as the Supervisor of the Year.

The Benediction was given by **President Don Sielert.**

The Recessional was given by **Pete McLellan** and the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 PM.

The following members and guests were present: Don & Ann Sielert, Billy & Kathleen Thompson, Mike Ghormley, Pete McLellan, Marilyn Walker, Sherman Jackson, Jill Muncy, Doug Kowalski, Duane Bryner.