

Edmund Terrill Chapter No. 34 Sherman Texas Society Sons of The American Revolution



Meeting Minutes

The September 23rd, 2020 meeting of Edmund Terrill Chapter No 34 was held via a virtual meeting utilizing Zoom. The reason for the virtual meeting is for two reasons. The Sherman Library is not allowing group meeting until further notice and in accordance with the latest recommendations of the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) to control the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus). It is in the best interest of Edmund Terrill Chapter to protect it's members health by not holding a face to face meeting of 75% or more as mandated by the CDC.

President Ted Wilson called the meeting to order at 12:00 PM. A prayer was offered by Chaplain, Don Babbs followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag and Honor to the Texas Flag along with the SAR Flag Pledge recited.

President Wilson welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Attending were Compatriots, Ted Wilson, Don Babbs, Gary Barker, John Greer, Ray Hargis, T.L. Holden, Wade Graves, Barry O'Brian, Bill Hurst, Jerry Vaughn. Jerry Brown, Stephen Rodway, William Bryon, Guest attending were, Bob Kubin, Daisey Wood,

<u>Program</u>

An excellent program was presented by Robert (Bob) Kubin, Texas SAR Color Guard, Northern Command Commander and a member of East Fork Trinity Chapter. The topic was The History of the Color Guard and other related information. He presented Vice President, Gary Barker a beautiful sword in recognition of his service to the Color Guard. The sword was handed to Compatriot Barker virtually and quite impressive. President Ted Wilson presented Bob with a "Certificate of Appreciation.

Award Certificates.

New members of Edmund Terrill Chapter are Robert Neal Vaughn, Michael Gilbert Vaughn, Jimmy Moore, Jimmy C. Moore, Jr., Justin L. Moore, and Daniel G. Cogburn.

Supplements approved. Jerry O. Vaughn, William Hurst, Jr., and Ray E. Hargis.

Awards and Recognitions included:

Flag Certificate – Marvin and Mary Ellen Schiavone.

Viet Nam Era Service Pins – Tom Bowing, Walt Lamb, Marvin Schiavone, Tony Wood, and Daisey Wood.

Certificate of Appreciation – Don Babbs and Robert Kubin.

Martha Washington Metal – Sheryl Vaughn

Military Service Veterans Corps Metals – Ray E. Hargis and Ted E. Wilson.

Old Business

Awards presented to Edmund Terrill Chapter by the Texas SAR Society included. John Bruce Stuart Memorial Award (Presented for Outstanding Veterans Program) Flag Presentation Award – Star (Presented for Flag Presentation) E.A. Limmer Award (Presented for % of Supplemental Application/ membership) Texas SAR Americanism Award – Group 3 (40 to 100 members) (Presented for promoting Patriotic education, observance of national holidays and recognition of outstanding citizenship)

Texas SAR Outstanding Chapter Award – Group 3 (40 to 100 members)

Texas SAR Americanism Award – Group 3 (40 to 100 members) (Presented for support common objectives of SAR)

The Treasurer's Report by Wade Graves, Chapter Treasurer was presented. The CD has been rolled over.

A motion was made by T.L. Holden, seconded by Don Babbs to allow a payment of \$45.00 for new checks. Motion passed.

The 2020 BOM meeting has been canceled. The meeting may be held via Zoom on Nov. 13, 2020.

Bill Hurst discussed presenting a Fire Security and EMS Award to the Bonham Fire Department. He was granted permission to approach the Fire Chief for discussion.

President Wilson has been contacted to support a Texas C.A.R. member who is writing an essay for a scholarship. The Officers of the Chapter have approved supporting William Kuebler by providing advice for his essay.

T.L. Holden invited everyone to attend the Martha Jefferson Randolph Chapter DAR 's project of reconditing the Hendrix Cemetery NE of Sherman on Oct. 10th at 10:30 A.M.

Chaplain Don Babbs offered a closing prayer. The Recession was recited, and the meeting adjournment at 1:08 P.M. by President Ted Wilson

The next meeting will be on October 21, 2020. Location TBD.

Ray Dargis

Ray Hargis – Secretary