Ladies Auxiliary Texas Society Sons of the American Revolution April 1, 2023, 10a.m. Marriott CityPlace, Spring, Texas

The meeting was called to order by President Meg Anderson at 10:01 a.m.

Introduction of officers: President Meg Anderson, Treasurer-Registrar Barbara Stevens, Recording Secretary Sharon Mize, Chaplain Catherine Massey, and Parliamentarian Margaret Anderson.

The following individuals were recognized:

National First Ladies: Rita Pickette, Wanda White;

National Officers: Pat McLemore, wife of South Central District Vice-President General; and

Texas First Ladies: Wanda White, Barbara Stevens, Marie Rohrbough, and Jane Cohen.

The opening prayer was given by Chaplain Catherine Massey.

The pledges to the American Flag and Texas Flag were led by President Meg Anderson.

The Ladies Auxiliary Pledge was led by President Meg Anderson.

President Meg Anderson introduced our speaker, Denise Bennett.

Denise Bennett gave a reenactment of Clementina Rind, the first female printer of Williamsburg, Va.

OFFICER REPORTS:

Secretary –Given by Meg Anderson - The minutes from the October 2022 Meeting were approved as distributed.

TREASURER-REGISTRAR – Barbara Stevens gave the Treasurer and Registrar reports. There are currently 57 members. Barbara Stevens presented the 2023-2024 proposed budget, as recommended by the Board. A motion was made to adopt the 2023-2024 proposed budget as presented by the Treasurer. The motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer-Registrar Barbara Stevens presented the Board motion that the LATXSSAR provide funds from the operating fund to match donations collected in the 2020-2023 fundraising project to make the total amount \$5,000, to be used for artifact(s) for the SAR Museum. After discussion, the motion passed.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE:

The Nominating Committee made up of Catherine Massey, Margaret Anderson, and Candy Rudy presented the following slate of officers:

President—Meg Anderson

Vice-President—Candy Rudy

Treasurer-Registrar—Barbara Stevens

Secretary—Rowena Hayes

There were no nominations from the floor.

Jane Cohen made a motion to elect the slate of officers by acclimation. Charlotte Abbott seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

President Meg Anderson gave an update on the Fundraising Project.

PRESENTATION

First Lady Rita Pickette presented Susan Byram with the First Lady Hospitality pin.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

First Lady Rita Pickette reminded the members about the First Lady's Project, benefitting the Youth Programs of the National Society.

The 2024 TXSSAR meeting will be held in San Antonio, Texas.

Membership and National Pins – Are available for purchase at \$10.00 each from Barbara Stevens.

The Recessional was led by President Meg Anderson.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Sharon Mize, Recording Secretary

Members present:

Charlotte Abbott

Margaret Anderson

Meg Anderson

Susan Barnes

Denise Bennett

MaryBeth Brunson

Jane Cohen

Sarah Connelley

Jeannie Hartwick

Rowena Haves

Jean Kanter

Marilyn Loop

Catherine Massey

Sharon Mize

Diane Rohrbough

Marie Rohrbough

Candy Rudy

Barbara Stevens

Mary Thompson

Eileen Walcik

Wanda White

Guests/Visitors:

Rita Pickette, National First Lady

Pat McLemore, wife of South Central Division Vice-President General