Ladies Auxiliary

Texas Society Sons of the American Revolution Tuesday, August 8, 2023 10:00 am

The Historic home of Sam and Catherine Massey at 906 M Avenue, Huntsville, Texas

A tour was conducted by Catherine of her lovely family home before the meeting began.

Catherine Massey introduced the speaker Michael Sproat, Sam Houston Museum, Curator of Collections. His program was titled "Why Stories Matter and Why Museums Matter"

The prayer was given by State SAR President Sam Massey

The meeting was called to order by President Meg Anderson at 11:55 am.

Introduction of officers: President Meg Anderson, Treasurer-Registrar Barbara Stevens, Recording Secretary Rowena Hayes, Chaplain-Parliamentarian Catherine Massey.

The following individuals were recognized:

Texas First Ladies: Barbara Stevens, Jane Cohen, Current First Lady Catherine Massey and Former National First Lady Mickey Jo Lawrence

The pledges to the American Flag and Texas Flag were led by President Meg Anderson The Ladies Auxiliary Pledge was led by President Meg Anderson

Officer Reports:

Secretary-Given by Meg Anderson – The minutes from the April 2023 meeting were approved as distributed.

Treasurer-Registrar – Barbara Stevens gave the Treasurer and Registrar reports. There are currently 66 members.

Old Business:

Barbara Stevens reported that the sampler purchase intended for the museum was no longer available due to the delay on a vote to purchase. A motion was made to grant authority to Barbara Stevens to immediately purchase an artifact when found as long as it aligns with the voted-on budget for said item. This motion was made by Jane Cohen and seconded by Charlotte Abbott. After discussion, the motion passed.

Announcements:

The BOM will be held in College Station October 20-21, 2023
The 2024 TXSSAR will be held in San Antonio, Texas April 11-14, 2024

The Recessional was led by President Meg Anderson

The meeting was adjourned at 12:04

Lunch was enjoyed by all.

Attendees: Charlotte Abbott, Meg Anderson, Susan Barnes, Mary Beard, Susan Byram, Kristie Campbell, Jane Cohen, Jeannie Hartwick, Rowena Hayes, Mickey Lawrence, Catherine Massey, Sharon Mize, Sherri Setser, Barbara Stevens, Kaye Stone, Marie Yancey

Respectfully submitted, Rowena Hayes Recording Secretary